Maharashtra State Board Class 6 Science Chapter 16 The Universe


Que – Which celestial bodies does a galaxy include ?

Galaxy includes many other celestial bodies such as clusters of stars, nebulae, clouds of gases,clouds of dust, dead stars, newly born stars, etc.


Que – Name the different types of stars.

The different types of stars are –

  • Sun-like stars
  • Red Giants
  • Super Nova
  • Binary or Twin Stars
  • Variable Stars


Que – What are the types of comets and on what basis are they classified ?

comet is a celestial body that revolves around the sun. Comets are formed out of ice and dust particles.They are part of the solar system.

Comets are classified in two main groups according to the revolution around the sun.

Long period comets : These comets take more than 200 years to complete one revolution around the sun.

Short period comets: These comets take less than 200 years to complete one revolution around the sun.


Que – What is the difference between meteors and meteorites ?

A meteor is the visible streak of light that occurs when a small piece of space debris, such as a rock or dust particle, enters Earth’s atmosphere and heats up due to friction. This is also commonly known as a shooting star. Meteors typically burn up completely before they reach the ground.

On the other hand, a meteorite is a piece of space debris that survives its journey through the atmosphere of Earth and lands on the ground. A meteorite can be as small as a pebble or as large as a boulder, and they may be composed of a variety of materials, such as iron, stone, or stony iron.


Que – What are the characteristics of the planet Neptune ?

 A season on Neptune lasts for about 41 years. On this planet winds blow with extremely high speed.


Match the following.

Group A Group B
Galaxy From east to west
Comet 33 satellites
Sun-like star Spiral
Saturn Sirius
Venus Halley


Visit Homepage

Updated: 2 Mar 2023 — 9:08 am

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.