Online Shiksha

By Savita S. More

Class 6 Geography Chapter 7 – Our Country India

Last updated on June 28th, 2023 at 09:38 pm

Class 6th Geography Our Country India

Class 6th Geography Our Country India Answer the following questions briefly.


Name the major physical divisions of India.

Mountains, plateaus, plains, coasts, and islands are the major physical divisions of India.


India shares its land boundaries with seven countries. Name them.

Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, China, Pakistan, Nepal, and Myanmar share land borders with India.


Which two major rivers fall into the Arabian Sea?

The two major rivers that flow into the Arabian Sea are the Narmada and Tapi.


Name the delta formed by the Ganga and the Brahmaputra.

The Ganga and Brahmaputra rivers join to form the Sundarbans delta.


How many States and Union Territories are there in India? Which states have a common capital?

India has 29 states and 7 union territories. The states of Haryana and Punjab share a capital city, Chandigarh.


Why do a large number of people live in the Northern plains?

The northern plains have alluvial deposits left by rivers such as the Indus, Ganga, and Brahmaputra, as well as their tributaries. These river plains are rich in agricultural land. This is the reason for the high population size in these plains.


Why is Lakshadweep known as a coral island?

Lakshdweep island is known as coral island because it is made of coral, which are the skeletons of tiny marine animals known as polyps. When living polyps die, new polyps form on top of their hard skeletons. They grow higher and higher and thus form coral islands.


Tick the correct answers.

(a) The southernmost Himalayas are known as

  • Shiwaliks
  • Himadri
  • Himachal

Correct Answers – Shiwaliks

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

online-shiksha © 2023 Frontier Theme